Delhi Metro

Since 24 December 2002, the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation Limited (DMRC) has been serving the people of Delhi as well as nearby cities such as Gurgaon, Faridabad, Noida and Ghaziabad. Currently, Delhi Metro is the largest and busiest metro in India, and second oldest after the Kolkata Metro.

While this rapid transit system started operations with a small section of track in north-eastern Delhi, now it covers 314 kilometres, with 299 metro stations across Delhi and the National Capital Region. The Delhi Metro Map has a mix of Elevated, Underground and at-grade stations.

The Delhi Metro Timings are from 05:00 AM to 23:30 PM and have almost 2700 trips daily. For the convenience of the commuters, the Delhi Metro route is divided into Blue Line, Green Line, Red Line, Pink Line and so on. Information regarding DMRC is available at Delhi Metro Map, which one can see at all the Metro stations.

As the Delhi metro ticket price is very reasonable it has gain immense popularity amongst the masses. In fact, DMRC has completely revolutionized the mass transportation scenario in Delhi and the nearby areas.

Apart from reasonable and affordable Delhi metro ticket fare, there are many other benefits too. These include reduction in air pollution, time saving while travelling from one place to another, reduction in accidents, reduction in traffic congestion and fuel savings.

It is a matter of pride for India as DMRC has been certified by the United Nations (UN) as the first Metro Rail and Rail based system in the world to get carbon credits. The Delhi Metro line has been successful in reducing the pollution levels in the city by 6.3 lakhs tons each year. This is a great step from reducing global warming.

Every year, the Delhi Metro carries 700 million passengers, which is much more than the population of the United States.

Come enjoy a comfortable, air conditioned and eco-friendly transit system ride at Delhi Metro!

Delhi Metro Quick Info

Owner: Delhi Metro Rail Corporation
Serving Cities: Delhi
Number of Lines: 10
Headquarters: Metro Bhawan, Barakhamba Road, New Delhi – 110001
Started Operations in: 24 December 2002
Daily Timings: 5:30 am to 11:00 pm
Fare: ₹ 10–60

Delhi Metro Stations