Kolkata Metro (KMRC)

The Kolkata Metro (KMRC) or Calcutta Metro is the oldest metro system of India serving the City of Kolkata along with some districts of South 24 Parganas and North 24 Parganas. It is considered as the first underground metro system in India. It was opened to commuters on 24 October 1984, 35 years ago.

The KMRC network consists of one operational line Kolkata Metro Line 1 and one under construction (Line 2), with four further lines in various stages of planning. The Line 1 which is also known as North South Metro. There are total 24 operational stations and total distance is 27.28 Kms.

Kolkata Metro Quick Info

Owner: Kolkata Metro Rail Corporation (কলকাতা মেট্রো রেল নিগম)
Serving Cities: Kolkata Metropolitan Area, India
Number of Lines: 1
Headquarters: KMRCL Bhawan, HRBC Complex, 2nd & 3rd Floor, Munsi Premchand Sarani, Kolkata, India
Started Operations in: 24 October 1984; 35 years ago
Daily Timings: 6:45 am to 22:45 pm (Mon to Sat), 6:45 to 22:44
Fare: ₹ 10–60

Kolkata Metro Lesser Known Facts

  • It is the oldest metro network in India. It started operations in the year 1984 and the establishment stone was laid by Prime Minister Indira Gandhi in the year 1972.
  • The Kolkata Metro have ridership of 750,000 on Weekdays and 380,000 during Weekends.
  • The Kolkata Metro Fare are is the most economical fare in India. The Metro fare is distance-based. Fare structure on Metro Railway was last revised with effect from 05.12.2019 after a gap of six years.
  • The 10 Kolkata Metro stations are named after famous bengali personalities. The Stations are as below:

Girish Park (after theater identity Girish Ghosh), Jatin Das Park (after opportunity contender Jatin Das), Kavi Subhash, Kavi Nazrul (after the artist Kazi Nazrul Islam), Mahanayak Uttam Kumar (after Bengali star performing artist Uttam Kumar), Mahatma Gandhi Road (after Mahatma Gandhi), Masterda Surya Sen (after flexibility warrior Surya Sen), Netaji, Netaji Bhavan (after Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose), Shahid Khudiram (after opportunity contender Khudiram Bose).